

2018 Election Program: Primary Election Update PRIMARY ELECTION RESULTS

On August 14, voters chose their party's candidates for the general election, finalizing the ballot for November. Below, please find the results of each primary. Note, results are unofficial until they are certified by the Secretary of the State.

STATEWIDE OFFICES

Democrat	Democrat Republican				
Governor					
Ned Lamont	81%	Bob Stefanowski	29%		
Joe Ganim	19%	Mark Boughton	21%		
		David Stemerman	18%		
		Tim Herbst	18%		
		Steve Obsitnik	13%		
		tenant Governor			
Susan Bysiewicz	62%	Joe Markley	47%		
Eva Bermudez-Zimmerman	38%	Erin Stewart	33%		
		Jayme Stevenson	20%		
		Treasurer			
Shawn Wooden	57%	Thad Gray	56%		
Dita Bhargava	43%	Art Linares	44%		
			, .		
		Comptroller			
Kevin Lembo		Kurt Miller	52%		
(incumbent, no primary)		Mark Greenberg	48%		
		termer Concerd			
Millione Tene	57%	torney General	700/		
William Tong		<i>Sue Hatfield</i> John Shaban	79%		
Chris Mattei	26%	John Shaban	21%		
Paul Doyle	17%				
	FF	DERAL OFFICES			
Democrat		Republican			
		U.S. Senate			
Chris Murphy		Matt Corey	77%		
(incumbent, no primary)		Dominic Rapini	23%		
	rth o				
		ngressional District	F 20/		
Jahana Hayes	62%	Manny Santos	52%		
Mary Glassman	38%	Ruby Corby-O'Neill	26%		
		Richard DuPont	21%		

CONNECTICUT GENERAL ASSEMBLY

This is the results of primaries involving candidates currently serving in the legislature:

Senate – 9th District (Cromwell, Middletown (p), Newington (p), Rocky Hill (p), Wethersfield (p))

- Democratic challenger Rep. Matt Lesser defeated the endorsed candidate, Rep. Tony Guerrera.
- Republican Ed Charamut defeated challenger Tyler Flanigan.

Senate – 14th District (Milford, Orange, West Haven (p), Woodbridge (p))

- Republican challenger Rep. Pam Staneski defeated the endorsed candidate Tony Giannattasio.
- Democratic candidate James Maroney was unchallenged.

House – 3rd District (Hartford)

- Democratic 11-term incumbent Rep. Minnie Gonzalez defeated challenger Gannon Long.
- There is no Republican candidate.

House – 5th District (Hartford (p), Windsor (p))

- Democratic incumbent and challenger Rep. Brandon McGee defeated the endorsed candidate Lawrence Jaggon.
- Republican candidate Charles Jackson was unchallenged.

House – 18th District (West Hartford)

- Democratic challenger Jillian Gilchrest defeated 12-term incumbent Rep. Andy Fleischmann.
- Republican candidate Mary Fay was unchallenged.

House - 126th District (Bridgeport)

- Democratic incumbent and challenger Rep. Charlie Stallworth defeated endorsed candidate Shante Hanks.
- Republican candidate Miguel Bataguas was unchallenged.

House - 146th District (Stamford)

- Democratic endorsed candidate David Michel defeated two-term incumbent and challenger Rep. Terry Adams.
- Republican candidate Dan Pannone was unchallenged.

Below is a list of the General Assembly primary contests across Connecticut. Included are the primary winners, along with the candidates or incumbents from the opposing party that they will face in November's general election. Incumbents are denoted with (I).

Senate 9	Cromwell, Middletown (p), Newington (p), Rocky Hill (p), Wethersfield (p)	Antonio "Tony" Guerrera	D	
		Matthew Lesser	D	winner
		Edward Charamut	R	winner
		Tyler Flanigan	R	
		Len Suzio (I)	R	
Senate 13	Cheshire (p), Meriden, Middlefield, Middletown (p)	Mary Abrams	D	winner
		Alex Tiktinsky	D	
	Milford, Orange, West Haven (p), Woodbridge (p)	James Maroney	D	
Senate 14		Tony Giannattasio	R	
		Pam Staneski	R	winner
	Waterbury (p), Wolcott, Southington, Cheshire (p), Prospect	Rob Sampson	R	
Senate 16		Dagmara Scalise	D	
		Vickie Nardello	D	winner
Senate 17	Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Hamden (p), Naugatuck (p), Woodbridge (p)	George Logan (I)	R	
		Jorge Cabrera	D	winner
		Valerie Horsley	D	
		Sean Grace	D	
Senate	Bridgeport (p), Stratford (p)	Dennis Bradley	D	winner

STATE SENATE:

23		Aaron Turner	D	
		John Rodriguez	R	winner
		Casimir Mizera	R	
Senate 34	Durham (p), East Haven, North Haven, Wallingford	Leonard Fasano (I)	R	
		Aili McKeen	D	winner
		Josh Balter	D	

STATE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

House	Hartford (n)	Minnie Gonzalez (I)	D	winner
3	Hartford (p)	Gannon Long	D	
	Hartford (p), Windsor (p)	Lawrence O. Jaggon	D	
House 5		Brandon McGee (I)	D	winner
		Charles Jackson	R	
House 18	West Hartford (p)	Andrew Fleischmann (I)	D	
		Jillian Gilchrest	D	winner
		Mary M. Fay	R	
House 29	Rocky Hill, Newington (p), Wethersfield (p)	Christopher Duff	D	
		Kerry Wood	D	winner
		Andrew A. Lanciotto	R	
House 38	Waterford, Montville	Kathleen McCarty (I)	R	
		Baird Welch-Collins	D	winner
		Nick Gauthier	D	
		Patrick Murphy	D	

House 43		Kate Rotella	D	winner
	North Stonington, Stonington	Chris Donahue	D	
		Shawn Mastroianni	R	
		Scott Storms (I)	R	
House 60	Windsor (p) & Windsor Locks	Jane M. Garibay	D	winner
		Kathleen Tracy	D	
		Quentin W. Phipps	D	
House 100	Middletown (p)	Tyrell Brown	R	
		Anthony Gennaro	R	winner
	New Haven (p), West Haven (p)	Michael DiMassa (I)	D	
House 116		Richard D. Depalma	R	winner
		Roman Khondker	R	
	Bridgeport (p)	Shante Hanks	D	
House 126		Charlie Stallworth (I)	D	winner
		Manuel Bataguas	R	
	Bridgeport (p)	Christopher Rosario (I)	D	
House 128		Luis A. Colon	R	
		Ethan Book	R	winner
House	Norwalk (p)	Travis Simms	D	winner
140		Colin Hosten	D	
		David Michel	D	winner
House 146	Stamford (p)	Terry Adams (I)	D	
		Dan Pannone	R	

House 147		Matt Blumenthal	D	
	Darien (p), Stamford (p)	Anzelmo Graziosi	R	winner
		Marci Minnick	R	